" "
Directors & Medical Advisory Board

Who leads The Eye-Bank?

The Eye-Bank for Sight Restoration is a privately funded 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization. Its on-site ocular tissue laboratory (24-hour/7days) is subject to regulations set by the New York State Health Department and the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA). It also meets the highest accreditation standards established by the Eye Bank Association of America.

The administration of The Eye-Bank is headed by an Executive Director who reports to a voluntary Board of Directors, which is comprised of persons other than practicing physicians or surgeons. In 1980 a separate and voluntary Medical Advisory Board was established to provide oversight of medical standards as they pertain to The Eye-Bank’s laboratory.

The Board of Directors consists of the offices of President, Vice-President, Secretary and Treasurer as well as several regular members. There are no term limits for members of the Board and officers are elected on an annual basis. The Board is comprised of an Executive Committee; a finance/audit committee; a nominating committee and ad hoc committees.

The Medical Advisory Board advises and consults with the Medical Director and the Board of Directors concerning the technical and medical problems of the laboratory and any research project. Members of The Eye-Bank’s Medical Advisory Board are elected to a three-year term.

The Eye-Bank’s Medical Director oversees and provides advice on all medical aspects of the Eye Bank’s laboratory operations, including the medical policies and procedures, oversight of technical staff and the quality assurance program.

The Board of Directors and the Medical Advisory Board meet quarterly and the last meeting of the year is held as a Joint Board meeting.